Who we are: the EWEA Board of Directors

As a non-profit association, EWEA is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the members at the AGM. Each Board position has a two-year term. As of 24 February 2016 there are 24 Board members. The Board of Directors elects the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Board. The Chairperson is the CEO or similar function of a Leading Member of the Association and serves an 18-month term, renewable only after a minimum one term break.

Board of Directors

The Board meets six times a year and is made up of representatives of each membership category.

  • 1 representative of each Leading Member
  • 4 representatives of C categories
  • 3 representatives of A1 category

The Board members are appointed for a two-year period.

Chairman: Markus Tacke, CEO, Siemens Wind Power and Renewables
Vice-chairman: Jose López-Tafall Bascuñana, Acciona

Leading Member category – one seat per Leading Member

  • Acciona, Jose López-Tafall Bascuñana
  • DONG Energy Wind Power, Ulrik Stridbaek
  • EDF Energies Nouvelles (EDF-EN), Nicolas Couderc
  • EDP Renewables, Casillas Jorge
  • Enel Green Power, Felice Egidi
  • E.ON Climate & Renewables, Michael Lewis
  • ERG Renew, Francesco Gazzoletti
  • ENERCON, Katrin Düning
  • GE Wind, Cliff Harris
  • Iberdrola Renovables Energia, Juan Rivier
  • MHI Vestas Offshore Wind
  • Nordex, Tony Adam
  • RES - Renewable Energy Systems Ltd, Jean-Marc Armitano
  • Sentient Science, Ward Thomas
  • Siemens Wind Power and Renewables, Monika Wood
  • Vattenfall Vindkraft AB, Tomas Björnsson
  • Vestas Wind Systems, Morten Dyrholm

C category – four seats

  • ABB, Alfredo Parres
  • Technical University of Denmark, DTU Wind Energy, Peter Hjuler Jensen
  • Gamesa Eolica, Juan Diego Díaz Vega
  • Senvion, Norbert Giese

A1 category – three seats

  • Asociación Empresarial Eólica - AEE, Luis Polo
  • BWE - German Wind Energy Association - Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V.Henning Dettmer
  • Danish Wind Industry Association - DWIA, Jan Hylleberg

EWEA Statutes

Find out more about how the Association operates in EWEA's Statutes.

Read the statutes

Who's who in the Governance photo (November 2014)

First row – left to right:

Jorge Casillas, EDPR – Angeles Santamaria, IBERDROLA – Sandra Gommel, E.ON Climate & Renewables – Katrin Düning, ENERCON – Cecilia Hellner, Vattenfall – Oliver Lönker, Siemens Wind Power and Renewables – José Lopez Tafall, ACCIONA – Morten Dyrholm, Vestas

Second row – left to right:

Peter Hjuler Jensen Technical University of Denmark, DTU Wind Energy – Felice Egidi, Enel Green Power – Jan Hylleberg, Danish Wind Industry Association – Ulrik Stridbaek, DONG Energy Wind Power – Andreas Renner, EnBW Erneuerbare Energien GmbH – Juan Diego Díaz Vega, Gamesa Eolica – Nicolas Couderc, EDF EN

Third row – left to right:

Thomas Becker, EWEA – Hannu Väänänen, ABB – Markus Tacke, CEO, Siemens Wind Power and Renewables – Martin Berkenkamp, GE Wind – Heikki Willstedt, Asociación Empresarial Eólica – AEE, Thibault Desclée de Maredsous, Alstom - Henning Dettmer, BWE – German Wind Energy Association - Bundesverband WindEnergie e.V. – Francesco Gazzoletti, ERG Renew

EWEA is now WindEurope

This website is no longer actively maintained.
Please update your bookmarks!

Go to