Poul la Cour Prize

Poul la Cour (1846-1908) was a Danish physicist, meteorologist, inventor and folk high school teacher. Today la Cour is especially recognized for his early work on wind power, both experimental work on aerodynamics and practical implementation of wind power plants.

The Poul la Cour Prizewinners are nominated and chosen by a committee and EWEA and awarded for their outstanding achievements in the field of wind energy.

2014 Eddie O'Connor

Mainstream Renewable Power’s founder and CEO

2013 Professor Arthouros Zervos

EWEA President (2001 - 2013)

2012 Christian Nath

German classification society Germanischer Lloyd (GL).

2011 Heinrik Stiesdal

Chief Technology Officer at Siemens Wind Power.

2010 Ian Mays

CEO and founder of RES, one of the foremost contributors to the development of wind energy on the international stage.

2009 Mechtild Rothe

MEP, for her commitment to promoting renewable energy in Europe

2008 Jos Beurskens

Energy Research Centre of the Netherlands (ECN) -  for his outstanding achievements and many years’ service in the field of wind energy

2007 Erik Lundtang Petersen

Risø - in honour of outstanding achievements in wind energy and for his scientific integrity

2006 Andrew Garrad

Garrad Hassan - for outstanding personal achievement in wind energy

2004 Esteban Morras

EHN - for establishing EHN as one of the leading renewable energy developers in the world

2003 Wolfgang Palz

EC - for his work at the European Commission

2001 Ecotecnica

for their co-operative organisation structure

1999 Søren Krohn

Danish Wind Industry Association - for www.windpower.org

1995 Aloys Wobben

for the gearless ENERCON turbine

1993 Erik Grove Nielsen

for pioneering blade design

EWEA is now WindEurope

This website is no longer actively maintained.
Please update your bookmarks!

Go to windeurope.org